Presidential Libraries

White House Counsel Transition Interviews

This office is one of seven White House offices identified by the White House Transition Project. These oral history interviews explore the organization and activities of these offices within the Carter, Reagan and Clinton administrations. They also describe the transition experiences of each office.

(All documents are in PDF format )

Lloyd Cutler (1917 - 2005)
White House Special Counsel, 1994, Clinton Administration.

Robert Lipshutz (1921 - 2010)
Treasurer, Jimmy Carter Presidential Campaign Committee, 1975-1976; Counsel to the President, 1977- 1979, Carter Administration.

Abner Mikva (1926 - )
White House Counsel to the President, 1994-1995, Clinton Administration.

Peter Wallison (1941 - )
General Counsel of the U.S. Treasury Department, 1981-1985; Counsel to the President, Office of Counsel to the President, 1986-1987, Reagan Administration.