Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO)

History of the Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO)

President Jimmy Carter established ISOO with the signing of Executive Order 12065, "National Security Information," on December 1, 1978. ISOO replaced the Interagency Classification Review Committee (ICRC) which was created by Executive Order 11652, "Classification and Declassification of National Security Information and Material," issued by President Richard Nixon in 1972. The ICRC was composed of representatives from the Departments of Defense, Justice and State, the predecessor to the Department of Energy, the Atomic Energy Commission, and the Central Intelligence Agency. John Eisenhower chaired the ICRC, which met monthly at the White House.

When Mr. Eisenhower resigned in 1975, the administrative function of the ICRC was moved to the then National Archives and Records Service, a component of the General Services Administration, with the Archivist of the United States, James Rhodes, named as acting chairman.

Former Congressman Michael Blouin from Iowa served as the first Director of ISOO.

President Carter appointed Steven Garfinkel as ISOO's second Director, who served in the position until his retirement in January 2002.

On May 2, 2002, President Bush appointed J. William Leonard as ISOO's third Director, who served in the position until his retirement in January 2008.

On April 14, 2008, President Bush appointed William J. Bosanko as ISOO's fourth Director, who served in the position until March 26, 2011.

On July 20, 2011, President Obama appointed John P. Fitzpatrick as ISOO's fifth Director,who served in the position until January 8, 2016.

January 2016 - December 30, 2016
William Cira, Associate Director for Classification Management, served as acting Director, until his retirement in December 2016. 

December 30, 2016- Present  
The President of the United States approved Mark Bradley’s appointment as Director of ISOO.