National Historical Publications & Records Commission

Minutes and Correspondence of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, 1812-1924

(Microfilm Edition)

Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

Additional information at

The Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, now known as the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University, is the oldest natural science research institution and museum in the Americas. Founded in 1812, by many of the leading naturalists of the young American republic, its mission is "the encouragement and cultivation of the sciences.” The microfilm includes minutes (1812–1925), correspondence received (1812–1924), correspondence sent (1814–76), summaries of archival collections, memberships (1812–1924), nominations for membership (1812–1924), and donations (1812–1924). Correspondents include Franz Boas, Charles Darwin, Edward D. Cope, Mahlon Dickerson, Asa Gray, Edward E. Hale, Aleš Hrdlička, Joseph Leidy, George G. Meade, Titian R. Peale, Boies Penrose, Oren Root, Henry R. Schoolcraft, and Carl Schurz.

38 reels, 92-page guide

refer to caption


Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia 


  |    Next Record   |    Return to Index