National Historical Publications & Records Commission

Collaborative Digital Editions Start-Up Grants

With generous support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, in January 2021 the NHPRC launched a new program aimed at expanding cultural diversity in American history. The NHPRC-Mellon Start-Up Grants for Collaborative Digital Editions in African American, Asian American, Hispanic American, and Native American History program is designed explicitly to achieve four related objectives: 

  1. to provide opportunities that augment the preparation and training of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) new to the work of historical documentary editing, especially those currently working in history or related area and ethnic studies departments; 
  2. to encourage and support the innovative and collaborative re-thinking of the historical and scholarly digital edition itself—how it is conceived, whose voices it centers, and for what purposes; 
  3. to encourage and support the early planning and development of significant, innovative, and well-conceived digital edition projects rooted in African American, Asian American, Hispanic American, and Native American history and ethnic studies; and 
  4. to stimulate meaningful, mutually beneficial, and respectful collaborations that help to bridge longstanding institutional inequities by promoting resource sharing and capacity building at all levels, and that build into their plans a variety of means for achieving meaningful community and user input and engagement.

Grants will be awarded to collaborative teams with an emphasis on those at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-Serving Institutions, Tribal Colleges, and/or other Indigenous and Native American tribal scholars and community members, and members of the Asian American community. Priority will be given to start-up projects on historical topics that often fall outside the purview of mainstream history and humanities textbooks. The initial call for proposals deadline is June 9, 2021. Additional application information, including details and eligibility, is available here.


Advisory Board

  • Tenisha Armstrong, Stanford University
  • Laurie Arnold, Gonzaga University
  • Eiichiro Azuma, University of Pennsylvania
  • Brandi C. Brimmer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Catherine Ceniza Choy, University of California at Berkeley
  • Pero G. Dagbovie, Michigan State University
  • Eurie Dahn, College of Saint Rose  
  • Kathleen Duval, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Ashley D. Farmer, University of Texas at Austin
  • P. Gabrielle Foreman, Pennsylvania State University
  • Kim T. Gallon, Purdue University
  • Adam M. Haviland, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • José Angel Hernández, University of Houston
  • Ashley Howard, University of Iowa
  • Madeline Y. Hsu, University of Texas at Austin
  • Margaret Huettl, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Julian Lim, Arizona State University
  • Rosina Lozano, Princeton University
  • George Miles, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Yale University
  • Rose Miron, D'Arcy McNickle Center, Newberry Library
  • Shirley Moody-Turner, Pennsylvania State University
  • Jennifer L. Morgan, New York University
  • Mark Ocegueda, Brown University
  • Meredith Oda, University of Nevada at Reno
  • Joshua L. Reid, University of Washington
  • Paul C. Rosier, Villanova University
  • Ivy T. Schweitzer, Dartmouth College
  • Jennifer Stertzer, University of Virginia
  • Omar Valerio-Jiménez, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Mari Yoshihara, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Ex-officio members:

  • William G. Thomas III, Commissioner, Representing the American Historical Association
  • Wanda Williams, President, NARA Afro-American History Society