Legislative Branch

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee on the Records of Congress was established under authority of Public Law 101-509 (November 5, 1990) to advise Congress and the Archivist of the United States on the management and preservation of the records of Congress.

The Advisory Committee is comprised of the officials in Congress responsible for its records (the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate); the Senate Historian and the House Historian; and the Archivist of the United States (who is responsible for the administration of the archived records of Congress). House and Senate leadership appoint public members of the committee who represent historians, political scientists, congressional archivists, and other users and caretakers of legislative records.

The Committee meets twice a year as required by law and continues to work actively to promote a more complete documentation of the legislative process.

Committee Members

Ann Berry, Secretary, U.S. Senate (chair)
 Kevin McCumber, Acting Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives (co-chair)
Colleen Shogan, Archivist of the United States
Kate Scott, Historian, U.S. Senate
Matthew Wasniewski, Historian, U.S. House of Representatives
Danna Bell, Educational Resource Specialist at the Library of Congress
Denise Hibay, Director for Collections and Research at the New York Public Library
Norman Ornstein, Senior Fellow Emeritus at the American Enterprise Institute
Deborah Skaggs, Archivist (retired), U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell and Elaine L. Chao Archives at the University of Louisville McConnell Center
Tanya Marshall, Vermont State Archivist and Chief Records Officer
Günter Waibel, Associate Vice Provost & Executive Director, California Digital Library at the University of California

Upcoming Meeting

The next meeting will be announced soon. Please contact the Center for Legislative Archives with any questions.  

Committee Reports

Meeting Minutes