1950 Census Records
On April 1, 2022, the 1950 Census records were released and are available free of charge.
Search the 1950 Census at 1950Census.Archives.gov
Taken every 10 years since 1790, the United States census provides a snapshot of the nation's population. Because of a 72-year restriction on access to the records, the most recent census year currently available is 1950.
On April 1, 2022, the 1950 Census was released, and users can access it for free through a dedicated website at 1950census.archives.gov. This population census is the 17th decennial census of the United States. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has digitized and is providing free online access to the 1950 Census population schedules for U.S. states and territories, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.
Bulk Download: In addition, researchers can download the full 1950 Census dataset.
How You Can Help
You can search the 1950 Census website by name and location. You can also search by Indian Reservation for form P8 Indian Reservation Schedules.
To develop the initial name index, we are using Amazon Web Services’ artificial intelligence / optical character recognition (AI/OCR) Textract tool to extract the handwritten names from the digitized 1950 Census population schedules.
Because the initial name index is built on optical character recognition (OCR) technology, it is not 100-percent accurate. The National Archives is asking for your help in submitting name updates to the index using a transcription tool that is available on the 1950 Census website. You can help us improve the accuracy of the name index and make the records more accessible for everyone. More information will be forthcoming.
Additional Articles and NARA Blog Posts
"Preparing for the 1950 Census," AOTUS blog
Census Records: The 72-Year Rule, Pieces of History blog
"Counting Down Until the Release of the 1950 Census!," The Text Message blog
"1950 Census on Track for 2022 Release, Despite Pandemic," National Archives News
Genealogy Series 2022 Kicks Off With “What's on the 1950 Census,” National Archives News
Volunteers Can Contribute to Nation’s History by Collaborating on 1950 Census Records, National Archives News
Archivist Explores History of 1950 Census Indian Reservation Schedule, National Archives News
Release of 1950 Census Will Increase Access to Records, National Archives News
Explore 1950 Census Resources on New Archives.gov Page, National Archives News
1950 Census Release Will Offer Enhanced Digital Access, Public Collaboration Opportunity, National Archives News
For more information, contact us
1950 Census Celebration Videos
Join a virtual celebration of the 1950 Census records release by watching remarks from the Archivist of the United States, the Director of the Census Bureau, the Secretary of Commerce, the Secretary of the Interior, and other distinguished individuals.
What are people asking on History Hub about the 1950 Census?
- Was Alaska included in the 1950 census?
- 1950 census ED-52-75, pages #9 and #10 are duplicates
- Seeking 1950 NY Census ED# 24-1422, Sheets 77-79
- Seeking 1950 census records of military personnel in Alaska
- Looking for Lebert (Lee) Evans in 1950 census for Nampa, Idaho area