Legislative Branch

Guide to the Records of the U.S. Senate at the National Archives (Record Group 46)

Table of Contents

  • Short Form
    Lists chapter titles only.
  • Detailed
    Provides the standing committees descriptions in each chapter.

House Guide

Snippet
Snippet

Table of Contents:   Short Form

Introduction General Introduction
Chapter 1 An Introduction to Research in the Records of Congress
Chapter 2 Records of the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and Related Committees
Chapter 3 Records of the Committee on Appropriations
Chapter 4 Records of the Committee on Armed Services and Its Predecessors
Chapter 5 Records of the Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs
Chapter 6 Records of the Committee on Claims and Other Claims Committees
Chapter 7 Records of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation and Related Committees
Chapter 8 Records of the Committee on the District of Columbia
Chapter 9 Records of the Committee on Finance and Related Records
Chapter 10 Records on the Committee on Foreign Relations
Chapter 11 Records of the Committee on Governmental Affairs and Related Committees
Chapter 12 Records of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and Predecessor Committees
Chapter 13 Records of the Committee on the Judiciary and Related Committees
Chapter 14 Records of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare and Related Committees
Chapter 15 Records of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service and Related Committees
Chapter 16 Records of the Committee on Environment and Public Works and Related Committees
Chapter 17 Records of the Committee on Rules and Administration and Related Committees
Chapter 18 Records of Senate Select Committees
Chapter 19 Records of Joint Committees of Congress (Record Group 128)
Chapter 20 General Records of the U.S. Senate
Chapter 21 Records Relating to Executive Proceedings and Impeachments
Chapter 22 Modern Records of the United States Senate

Appendices:

 
  A. Majority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  B. Minority Leaders (U.S. Senate website)
  C. Secretaries of the Senate (U.S. Senate website)
  D. Select Bibliography
  E. Glossary of Legislative and Archival Terms
  F. Dates of the Sessions of the U.S. Congress (U.S. Senate website)
  G. National Archives Finding Aids to Senate Records
 

H. National Archives Microfilm Publications of Senate Records

Related Resources:  
  A. Records of the U.S. Senate (Record Group 46) in Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States
  B. Publications of the U.S. Government (Record Group 287)
  C. U.S. Senate website
  D. U.S. Senate Art & History website
   

Bibliographic note: Web version based on Guide to the Records of the United States Senate at the National Archives, 1789-1989: Bicentennial Edition (Doct. No. 100-42). By Robert W. Coren, Mary Rephlo, David Kepley, and Charles South. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1989.

Top