Office of Government Information Services (OGIS)

Technology Committee

Co-Chairs: Eric Stein, U.S. Department of State and Michael Sarich, Veterans Health Administration

Membership: The Technology Committee has 40 members from at least 25 departments/agencies.

In response to a recommendationof the 2016-2018 term of the FOIA Advisory Committee, the Archivist of the United States proposed that the Chief FOIA Officers (CFO) Council seek to establish a technology committee, in partnership with the Chief Information Officer (CFO) Council, to study the utilization and deployment of technology in FOIA programs across agencies, and identify best practices and recommendations that can be implemented across agencies.

In September 2018, the CFO Council co-chairs established the Technology Subcommittee (later renamed as the Technology Committee). Two senior FOIA professionals at the Department of State and the Veterans Health Administration co-chair the Committee; membership includes FOIA professionals from the Departments of Homeland Security and the Interior, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Institute of Library and Museum Services, American Battle Monuments Commission, Social Security Administration, Air Force Declassification Office, and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The Committee liaises with OIP and OGIS.

The Technology Committee was formerly known as the Technology Subcommittee.

2020 Accomplishments

Upcoming Events

February 9 and 10, 2022 -  NexGen FOIA Tech Showcase

The CFO Council's Technology Committee, in conjunction with The Office of Information Services (OGIS) at the National Archives and Records Administration and the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) Office of Information Policy (OIP), is planning a two-day event for federal agencies in  February  2022 called the NexGen FOIA Tech Showcase.

To learn more, read the November 12. 2021 OGIS blog post, FOIA Technology Showcase: Request for Information Published on!

If you are interested in showcasing your company’s FOIA tools, check out the Request for Information (RFI) published on Initial submissions are due by November 23rd! 

Stay tuned for more information!



Working Groups

In 2020, the Technology Committee established seven interagency working groups comprised of Committee members. Below is a list of those seven working groups followed by each group’s respective charter.  Target milestones in each charter are subject to change.